California Schoolmasters' Club Logo

Dr. Virgil Hollis Distinguished Service Award

In 1978, the Schoolmasters changed their primary purpose to honoring Schoolmasters of the Year from the Northern California counties. The idea of changing the Club's focus was that of Dr. Virgil S. Hollis, Marin County Superintendent of Schools from 1959 to 1982. Dr. Hollis realized that education did a poor job of publicizing its successes and recognizing outstanding educators in the profession. He was also disturbed by the tendency of the media to report negatively on education, while ignoring the positives.

The Dr. Virgil S. Hollis Distinguished Service Award is given annually to a person involved in education who demonstrates outstanding distinguished service to the California Schoolmasters' Club.

2013 Award Winner
Ernie Holly

Ernest D. Holly, IV Ernie is the owner of Timeline Media Productions, and an award winning director/producer of the documentaries “GO THE DISTANCE,” “BINGE DRINKING: The Rite of Passage,” the recently released “GENERATION TEXT: An Evolution of Bullying,” and the forthcoming "BELIEVE AND ACHIEVE." In addition, Ernie has shot for National Geographic, Fox Sports and has work featured in the Library of Congress. Most recently, he shot the documentary for Race Across America (RAAM). He is also a part-time video productions teacher and sits on the Career Tech Ed Curriculum Advisory Committees for Solano Community College, The Solano County Office of Education and The Napa County Office of Education. He is also a board member for both Team Will and California Schoolmasters' Club.


2011 International Trailer Festival Winner: Best Documentary for “Go the Distance”
2012 Ursula Film Festival Winner: Best Documentary for “Generation Text: An Evolution of Bullying”

Past Recipients

2012 Sheldon J. Reber
2011 Donald A. Cooley
2009 Paul Tichinin
2008 Dee Alarcón
2007 Mark Lieb
2006 Carol Zaro
2005 Larry Gordon
2004 Pam Miller
         Sandy Scherin
         Patti Springer
2003 Richard A. Smith
2002 James B. Orrell
2001 Dr. Rodney J. Tognetti
2000 Michael J. Holway
1999 Mary Jane Burke
1998 Dr. Wendall L. Kuykendall
1997 Dr. Ira Clark
1996 Elmer F. Eckart
1995 David M. Nigel
1994 Dr. Judith E. Luchsinger
1993 Dr. Byron W. Mauzy
1992 Robert E. Zaro
1991 Kenneth M. Forry
1990 Charles A. Teutschel
1989 Dr. Shirley A. Thorton
1988 Dr. Diane L. Brooks